PAT Testing & Equipment Classification

Posted on

When PAT Testing portable appliances, it is essential for the person undertaking the inspections & testing to determine the correct equipment classification.This is paramount, because a specific test sequence exist for each class of equipment.

Classification of equipment are divided into three sections:

  • Class I  – Earthed Appliance
  • Class II – Double Insulated Appliance
  • Class III – Separated Extra Low Voltage

How to identify class 1, 2 & 3 appliances

Class 1 appliances do not rely upon basic insulation only, but also include an earth connection to exposed conductive parts. A class 1 appliance  does not have a symbol indicating its classification.

Class 2 appliances contains supplementary insulation, with no provision for exposed metalwork to be connected to earth. A class 2 appliance is identified with a double insulated marking which is a symbol of a  square within a square  This symbol can be normally found on the appliance/equipment manufacturers plate.

Class 3 appliances are supplied at a low voltage (usually called Separated Extra Low Voltage) which must be less than 50 V. These appliances are supplied with a transformer supply that is also marked.

Of course, you might want to learn from an expert on a one-to-one level. Our PAT training courses can be carried out the comfort of your office, or at our premises. Courses can be booked as group booking or individual sessions.

Take a look at our range of PAT Testers from leading manufacturers Megger, Seaward and Fluke.

For further information, contact us on 057 8662162 or email us here. We would be happy to answer any questions you might have.

This post was first published on

Comments are closed.